Supreme Court Information

             The Cherokee Nation Judicial Appeals Tribunal (JAT) was created by Article VII of the 1975 Constitution.  The 1999 Cherokee Constitution then changed the name of the court to the Cherokee Nation Supreme Court in Article VIII Section 1. It is comprised of five Justices.  The Supreme Court has appellate jurisdiction and other jurisdiction as conferred by statue.


         The following filing fees apply to Supreme Court Cases:

                     Case filing                          $75.00
                     Appeal filing                       $50.00

        For more information on the Supreme Court, please call (918) 458-9440.

Supreme Court Contacts



Troy Wayne Poteete, Chief Justice
John C. Garrett, Justice      James G. Wilcoxen, Justice
Angela Jones, Justice        Lynn Burris, Justice


Supreme Court Clerk

Kendall Bird

P.O. Box 1097

Tahlequah, Ok 74465

(918) 458-9440

fax (918) 458-9572